Technics SX KN 6500 Piano mode problem.

Author
Topic

Hi i have just bought my first Technics  keyboard SX KN 6500 second hand it seems to work great on all instruments except piano mode. Obviously i am new to this and it looks a steep learning curve to use all functions correctly but this problem only occurs on piano mode. When i strike the keys firmly it plays Grand piano or other piano’s but if you lower the velocity itplays another sound like a whooshing or other instrument? Is it something i have turned on by mistake or is it a possible repair needed. I have reset the keyboard to original settings but no change. Thanks in advance for any help.

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
Author
Replies

Hi there my friend. I have a KN6000 with a 6500 upgrade and am using it for a Piano course I have so playing it in solo Grand Piano mode is normal for me.

I would suggest the following to tray.

First, make sure that ONLY the Right hand button is lit and is logged into Grand Piano.

Second, make sure Reverb is OFF at this time.

Third, make sure Sustain is off till you get the piano sound right.

Also check that Multi, Chorus and or Mic are not on (especially if you have a mic connected).

Make sure that the Music Style Arranger, Techni Chord and Auto chord are all off.

Finally Sound DSP, Digital Variation and Variation are also all off.

I would suggest that once you get the keyboard to sound right for the piano, SAVE those settings to floppy disc (or USB memory chip if you have it upgraded to a floppy emulator).

Do you have a volume pedal, sustain pedal or any other pedal attached tp your keyboard?

Regards.

Robin.

1 user thanked author for this post.

Hi thanks for reply Robin. I don’t have any pedals just the keyboard, i will try what you suggested tomorrow when i get home see if it makes a difference and will let you know.

regards

Andy.

1 user thanked author for this post.

Hi @ruudiboy,

Some great advice from @rockinghorsekid there!